COVID-19: Land borders with new rules starting today for those arriving from high-risk countries – News

This 14-day prophylactic isolation measure for passengers from the United Kingdom, Brazil, South Africa or countries with 500 cases of covid-19 per 100,000 inhabitants also extends to air and sea borders and started today when it starts more a period of state of emergency that runs until April 15.

In a note released at the beginning of the week, the Ministry of Internal Administration (MAI) stated that flights from Brazil, the United Kingdom and South Africa will remain suspended until April 15, with only repatriation flights and citizens arriving. to Portugal from these countries on repatriation flights or through stopovers.

According to MAI, citizens coming from these flights not only have to present proof of negative test, but also have to carry out a period of prophylactic isolation of 14 days.

“Passengers arriving in the national territory without proof of having tested for SARSCoV-2 infection must perform it inside the airport, at their own expense, through qualified health professionals, and must wait the result at the airport itself “, says the MAI.

The note from the Minister of Internal Affairs’ office also stressed that passengers from countries with an incidence rate of 500 cases or more per 100,000 inhabitants “can only make essential trips” and are also subject to prophylactic isolation from 14 days.

The list of these countries includes Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Cyprus, Slovenia, Estonia, France, Hungary, Italy, Malta, Poland and Sweden.

Only passengers traveling from countries where the incidence rate is equal to or greater than 150 cases per 100 thousand inhabitants can also make essential trips, such as Germany, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Denmark, Slovakia, Finland, Greece, Latvia , Lithuania, Luxembourg, Norway, the Netherlands, Romania and Switzerland.

“On flights from third countries only essential trips are allowed”, according to the MAI.

As part of the control of the land border with Spain, nationals or those with legal residence in the national territory from the United Kingdom, Brazil, South Africa or countries with an incidence rate equal to or greater than 500 cases per 100 thousand inhabitants, will also have a 14-day prophylactic isolation period.

Within the framework of the measures in force at the land border, “circulation between Portugal and Spain – and only at Authorized Crossing Points – is limited to the international transport of goods, duly documented cross-border and seasonal workers, and emergency and emergency vehicles. relief and emergency services, travel is not allowed for the purposes of tourism ”, he adds.

In the same note, the Government also recalls that the ban on movement between municipalities, in force under the Decree regulating the State of Emergency, applies to all citizens, regardless of nationality.

In the case of citizens who are not resident in the national territory, “the possibility of traveling, after arriving in Portugal, to the place of proven residence, namely a hotel or other accommodation, is only foreseen”.

These citizens, emphasizes the communiqué, are subject to “the same rules and exceptions foreseen for resident citizens”, that is, they will not be able to circulate outside the municipality of accommodation.

Get the latest news delivered to your inbox

Follow us on social media networks

PREV Religious procession generates agglomeration in Caracas amid second wave of covid
NEXT New York Police Arrest Man Who Attacked Asian Woman In Hate Crime Case