Extreme E: Hamilton’s team turns against Rosberg and leads qualifying day | motor

Extreme E: Hamilton’s team turns against Rosberg and leads qualifying day | motor
Extreme E: Hamilton’s team turns against Rosberg and leads qualifying day | motor

After seeing the team of Nico Rosberg (Rosberg X Racing) lead the Q1 of the first classification of Extreme E in history, the team of Lewis Hamilton (X44), formed by Sébastien Loeb and Cristina Gutiérrez, turned the game in Q2 with time margin enough to finish the first day of activities ahead of the general classification in the Alula desert in Saudi Arabia.

Both the Q1 and Q2 times are obtained in two laps, one for the male driver and one for the female driver. Then, the two marks are added to obtain the total time of the team.

+ Stage in Brazil, electric car and former F1 rivals: the Extreme E guide

1 of 3 Team X44 car, owned by Lewis Hamilton – Photo: Reproduction

Team X44 car, owned by Lewis Hamilton – Photo: Reproduction

In second place overall was the ACCIONA team, formed by Carlos and Laia Sainz. Rosberg’s team, who had led Q1, had a worse performance in Q2 and ended Saturday in third place. The result qualifies the first three teams straight to the semifinal. The fourth, fifth and sixth dispute the “crazy race”, while the seventh, eighth and ninth dispute the “shootout”.

SporTV 2 broadcasts live the semifinals and the final of the race on the morning of this Sunday, 4, starting at 7 am (Brasília time).

Overall classification result (Q1 + Q2)

2 out of 3 Extreme E Classification – Photo: Playback

Classification Extreme E – Photo: Reproduction

The seventh place, the Chip Ganassi Racing team, suffered from mechanical problems and was unable to participate in Q2. The eighth and ninth runners, ABT CUPRA XE and Veloce Racing, involved in the two rollovers of the Q1, also failed to set new times because of the damage to the cars.

Without incident, but with punishment

Unlike Q1, marked by two frightening rollovers, Q2 went without incident. However, the team of Jenson Button (JBXE), who has the Briton as a team leader and as a driver, ended up being punished with three minutes for exceeding the speed limit in the drivers’ switch zone, ending the classification in sixth place overall.

On Sunday, there will be four races (semifinal, crazy race, shootout e final). The two best teams in the semifinal advance to the final. The winner of the “Crazy Race”, disputed between the teams that came in 4th, 5th and 6th places, also guarantees a place in the final. And the teams that finished in the 7th, 8th and 9th places compete in the “shootout” to determine the final positions at the weekend, since all nine teams score.

The grid order in the final race is defined by the public through the platform Gridplay.

Check out the complete Extreme E grid

ABT CUPRA XE – # 125 – Mattias Ekström / Claudia Hürtgen
ACCIONA | Sainz XE Team – # 55 – Carlos Sainz / Laia Sanz
Andretti United – #23 – Timmy Hansen / Catie Munnings
Segi TV Chip Ganassi Racing – # 99 – Kyle LeDuc / Sara Price
Hispano Suiza XITE Energy Team – #42 – Oliver Bennett / Christine Giampaoli
JBXE – # 22 – Jenson Button / Mikaela Åhlin-Kottulinsky
Rosberg X Racing – # 6 – Johan Kristoffersson / Molly Taylor
Veloce Racing – # 5 – Stéphane Sarrazin / Jamie Chadwick
X44 – # 44 – Sébastien Loeb / Cristina Gutiérrez

Meet the Alula circuit

3 of 3 Alula Extreme E Circuit, in Saudi Arabia – Photo: Reproduction

Extreme E Circuit in Alula, Saudi Arabia – Photo: Reproduction

Get the latest news delivered to your inbox

Follow us on social media networks

PREV Jesus scores, City beat Leicester and extends English advantage
NEXT Newton on wearing the Palmeiras shirt: ‘Privilege for me and my country’