ACCRJ elects the best films of the year

ACCRJ elects the best films of the year
ACCRJ elects the best films of the year

The Rio de Janeiro Film Critics Association (ACCRJ), in a meeting held this Saturday (3), chose the best films of 2020. Chaired by journalist Ana Rodrigues, ACCRJ held the vote virtually due to the covid-19 pandemic, which also influenced the change in the eligibility rule, making titles produced by and for streaming platforms eligible for the first time in its history.

Two Brazilian titles are included in the list: “Babenco: Somebody has to listen to the heart and say it stopped”, about the last years of the life of the renowned filmmaker Hector Eduardo Babenco, directed by his wife, director Bárbara Paz; and the award-winning “Pacarrete”, by Allan Deberton, starring Marcélia Cartaxo (Urso in Berlin, with “A Hora da Estrela”).

Very happy with the nomination, Deberton spoke about the meaning of this choice: “We thank and salute the Association of Film Critics of Rio de Janeiro for being part of the select list, in the midst of so many incredible films. It is a great honor. Brazilian cinema is something to be proud of! Our identity, our culture, our dreams are on screen! May it always resist, that more stories be told and that the older artists are always, always, on the scene ”, stressed the director.

The complete list of elected officials
– “Portrait of a Young Woman on Fire” (Portrait de la jeune fille en feu – 2019, France), by Céline Sciamma – which was chosen as the best film of the year.
– “1917” (Idem – 2019, USA), by Sam Mendes;
– “Babenco: Someone Must Hear the Heart and Say Stop” (2020, Brazil), by Bárbara Paz;
– “Blood Detachment” (Da 5 Bloods – 2020, USA), by Spike Lee;
– “Joias Brutas” (Uncut Gems – 2019, USA), by Benny Safdie and Josh Safdie;
– “The Lighthouse” (2019, Canada), by Robert Eggers;
– “The Invisible Man” (The Invisible Man – 2020, Canada), by Leigh Whannell;
– “The Sound of Silence” (Sound of Metal – 2019, USA), by Darius Marder;
– “Pacarrete” (2020, Brazil), by Allan Deberton;
– “Soul” (Idem – 2020, USA), by Pete Docter and Kemp Powers

The posthumous tributes went to the actors José Mojica Marins, Flávio Migliaccio, Kirk Douglas and Sean Connery; and for composers Aldir Blanc and Ennio Morricone.

The “Best Cinematographic Initiative of 2020” will be awarded to Cavi Borges, who continues to produce in the midst of the pandemic, including opening the Cultural Space Cavídeo, at Casas Casadas, in Laranjeiras, South Zone of Rio de Janeiro. In addition, Cavi Borges has carried out social actions to help those most affected by the humanitarian crisis arising from the health and economic crisis.

Get the latest news delivered to your inbox

Follow us on social media networks

PREV Social support promulgated by the President has “perverse and unjust effect”, warns Minister of Labor – Observer
NEXT Lenovo Legion 2 Pro will have trump card to fight its rivals